Nerves

Mom has a bad case of the nerves. It started in November. I’m not sure what started it but I think it has to do with mom turning fifty-four and having hot flashes. It’s my best guess because I can’t imagine why she’d suddenly have more nerves. I’ve gotten older too and I’ll admit I’m feeling the nerves thing too. Anyway, they usually hit me when my brofur Max starts throwing tennis balls around the house. He’s got dozens of those ankle breakers. Usually he starts to play with them when I’ve just settled down for a nap. WHACK! BANG! POUNCE! Five balls flying around our small living room. I can’t stand it! I’m sure I’m going to get boinked with one of those things. And besides how is a girl to get her beauty sleep? Thankfully I can run into another, quieter place in the house to get away from Chaos Max-imum. All those balls flying give me gray fur!

But I know Max gets the nerves too. We don’t know what causes his nerves, however we can all smell when it happens! Usually his nerves hit when we are all on the big bed tucked in for the night. I end up hiding my head under my people’s blankets and pretending not to notice. Mom on the other hand starts waving her hands around – I’m not sure why. As far as I can tell this hand waving is some kind of distress code – like when it rains and the car starts waving its face arms because it doesn’t like getting wet. I hate wet too so I understand these things. But frankly, I don’t think the hand waving helps with smell, but I guess it makes my people feel like they are doing something to help the situation. I’m pretty sure they don’t want to get out of the warm bed to run to another room, so that’s their next best defense.

I guess when things happen which you don’t feel you have any control over, it helps just to do something, anything – no matter how small or seemingly silly. I run to another room, Max just farts a lot, and mom waves her hands around. It may not seem like you are achieving anything but you are – you are taking control.  You are not sitting with the nervous feelings of hopelessness and helplessness. You are empowering yourself. You are empowering others. So my message to you to combat nerves: don’t sit at home waving your arms around, or getting gas, become active. Take charge. And try to remember what Eleanor Roosevelt once said:

“It is better to light a candle, than to curse the darkness.”

BE THAT LIGHT.

1 Comment

  1. Yep, I know where you’re coming from. We like candles too.

Leave a Reply

