The Rainbow Connection

So many things have happened in the past year I haven’t had the time to write my blog. You may remember I last wrote in January 2014 after my grandpa went to the Rainbow Bridge. We were all very sad (truthfully Mom still gets teary eyed). After grandpa, two of my uncles also journeyed to the Bridge – they both died of sudden heart attacks. One of my uncles was only 58 years old and left behind my aunt and my two young nieces. This too made Mom sad. It was a very dark year. By the time September rolled around, mom decided life was too short not to enjoy every day. She retired so she could spend time with Mom2, Max and me. That made me very happy.

The last few days, I’ve been seeing loads of people sporting rainbow avatars on Facebook and Twitter. People have been waving Rainbow Flags all over the news. They have been hugging and crying, all while waving the Rainbow Flag. I thought something terrible had happened. I thought, like someone waving a start flag, there was going to be a mass exodus to the Rainbow Bridge! I thought all the sadness of last year was going to begin again. I cuddled close to mom in case she decided to make a run for that bridge too! I love my mom! I need my mom! I don’t want her going to the Rainbow Bridge! It was all like some terrible technicolor nightmare! Finally, after I had been whining and carrying on, Mom explained that people were happy, very happy, and no one was running towards the Rainbow Bridge. Happy apparently, because some old people in black bathrobes said gay people could get married. Truthfully, I was relieved, but confused.

Rainbow CanineFirst, are rainbows a happy thing or a sad thing? Last year when mom told me about the Rainbow Bridge, rainbows were a sad thing. This year, if you wave a Rainbow Flag, it means you’re happy. Which makes me wonder: if you wave a Rainbow Flag on the Rainbow Bridge are you happy or sad? And what do rainbows mean? I asked mom these questions.

Mom explained that rainbows have many meanings. One is that rainbows are a symbol of promise. She told me a story, which I think I have the gist of: One day God – (or maybe it was Dog) – got mad – apparently he got mad a lot in the old days. He made it rain. And rain. There was a flood. Nobody except this guy Noah had flood insurance. It was a big disaster! God was sorry. He promised Noah that he’d never make it rain that hard ever again. God’s promise is the Rainbow Covenant – the rainbow became a symbol of peace.

Mom went on and on! She said that rainbows unite heaven to earth. According to Norse Legend, the sacred Rainbow Bridge called Bifrost connected Midgard (the realm of humankind) with Asgard (the realm of the Gods). The poem about the Rainbow Bridge which all anipals know, was inspired by Norse mythology. The rainbow is a bridge to the divine. It is a concept found in Zulu, Navaho, Hawaiian, Japanese, Cambodian, Greek, Australian Aborigine, Chumash, and Hopi myths.

The Rainbow Bridge inspired by a Norse legend
“By the edge of a woods, at the foot of a hill,
Is a lush, green meadow where time stands still.
Where the friends of man and woman do run,
When their time on earth is over and done.

For here, between this world and the next,
Is a place where each beloved creature finds rest.
On this golden land, they wait and they play,
Till the Rainbow Bridge they cross over one day.

No more do they suffer, in pain or in sadness,
For here they are whole, their lives filled with gladness.
Their limbs are restored, their health renewed,
Their bodies have healed, with strength imbued.

They romp through the grass, without even a care,
Until one day they start, and sniff at the air.
All ears prick forward, eyes dart front and back,
Then all of a sudden, one breaks from the pack.

For just at that instant, their eyes have met;
Together again, both person and pet.
So they run to each other, these friends from long past,
The time of their parting is over at last.

The sadness they felt while they were apart,
Has turned into joy once more in each heart.
They embrace with a love that will last forever,
And then, side-by-side, they cross over… together.”

Mostly, Rainbows bring us together! They give us joy and hope – Hope for better days to come. Hope that we’ll see our loved ones again. Hope that one day people will not judge us by who we love, but by how we love. Hope that LOVE will always be greater than hate. HOPE THAT LOVE REALLY DOES WIN.

Leave a Reply

